content top

October Chair Letter

Dieter Eckstein

My dear Quality Professionals,

Have you heard about our Quality Day taking place October 27th?

Our section’s Quality Day is one of the best educational and networking values in Southern California.  Our team has been working hard to put together a Quality Day that lives up to the reputation this event has gained over the years.

This event is a taste of the great value to the members of our and surrounding ASQ Sections.

This Quality Day’s Theme is “Raising the Bar.”  In the competitive environment that we live in today, remaining competitive and sharp with our knowledge and skills is no longer an option, it is a necessity.  This Quality Day, Dave Nagy has put together a program to bring speakers that bring great perspectives, insights and how to’s for our members to enrich the knowledge base.  However, this is an opportunity that you need to try to come out and take advantage.  The cost should not be an issue, so our Leadership Committee has done an exceptional job to keep this event affordable.  Save yourself some money and register as soon as possible and take advantage of our early bird promotional fees.  We have put together a great package that includes great speakers, great topics, great food a chance to network!  Don’t miss it!  I hope to see you there!  Find more information inside our newsletter.

We are also proud to join our sister sections from Los Angeles, San Gabriel Valley, San Fernando Valley to bring you the Southern California Quality Conference on November 4th.  This is the 10th year this event will be held.  Our sections put together, yet another great opportunity for our members to take advantage learning from some of the best instructors and speakers in our area.  With the theme of “QUALITY → POWER * IMPACT, Grow Your Influence in the Profession, Throughout the Organization, and Around the World” our speakers will bring your key information about Risk Management, Supply Chain Management and Leadership, Customer Satisfaction & Problem Solving.

The Member Leaders in our ASQ Section have volunteered a great amount of effort and time to bring you, our members these events to enrich your careers with valuable knowledge that will give you the edge at work.  I would like to thank Dave Nagy, Ned Schneider, Vinay Goyal for their great contributions, time and dedication to make these events a reality.

As the year winds down, I look at the last two years and find myself wishing to have more time to accomplish all the things that I set out to accomplish when I became Chair.  The reality is that volunteering for a position like this brings challenges and with those challenges, great lessons that I will take with me to the next chapter of my career.  Leadership is a skill, but it is also a discipline that one needs to develop.  Leadership can’t be done alone and it can’t be successful if not supported by a loyal and willing team.  Volunteered work is not paid and it often competes with personal and professional needs that one needs to learn how to joggle.  The same is true for those that support you with their volunteer time.

I apologize to some of our members for our team not responding to emails right away, or for the growing pains to move ahead with technology.  I can tell each one of you that our volunteers do not lack the spirit to serve in the best way possible all of you, our members.  I have seen some of us struggle with our jobs, our families, health and other challenges throughout my time in the Leadership Committee to appreciate each one of our volunteers for all they do.  The next time you see one of the members of our Leadership Committee, be sure to thank them because without them, our section would simply not exist.  ASQ has some great benefits, but they all remain locked away in a treasure chest until YOU decide to unlock and take advantage of the benefits.  Our Member Leaders can help you make the most of your ASQ Membership, simply reach to any of us…we will be there to help you.  Our Monthly Dinner Meetings are probably the best benefit you will get in our section, yet out of 1400 members, only about 100 members take advantage of this monthly.  That means that in average, every month, 1300 members miss this great benefit.  What is the great benefit from activities like monthly dinner meetings?  If nothing else, the opportunity to network and get to know your fellow Quality Professionals.

I hope to see you at one of our upcoming events and I encourage you to use the benefits from ASQ to improve your career, to make this a better world, to make you a sharper professional!

Best regards!

Dieter Eckstein, BSBM, ASQ CMQ/OE, CQA

Section Chair, ASQ Orange Empire 0701


Read More

New ASQ Orange Empire Members

New ASQ Orange Empire Members

Welcome and congratulations on making the important decision to become a member of ASQ and ASQ Orange Empire.

Ana Elsa Ambriz Erika V. Marceles Shashank Roy
Anitha Sharma Gowrishankar Vijayakumar Stephanie Reyes
Annie Lee Irlanda Chavez Tuan Tran
Cyrus Galvan Jafar Mahmoodi-Ouchmooshi Venkata Danam 
Elisa Caroselli Neda Mosafaei Shirazi Vinca Chen
Elnura Hashimova Sr Paola Romano Yosief Mekonnen


All new members are eligible for a free admission to a dinner meeting within 3 Months of becoming a member. Please contact our  membership Chair Vatsal Pater for a Free Dinner Voucher at

Please welcome our Newest members to ASQ Orange Empire Section 0701!





Read More
content top