content top

October Chair Letter

Dieter Eckstein

Hello Quality Colleagues,

Hi colleagues!

October 2016!! Wow!  We started the 3rd quarter of 2016 and the year starts winding down in a hurry!  Before we say goodbye to 2016, our Section Leaders are working on a few more activities for you.

One of these will take place on November 4th and 5th when our Section joine
d our sister sections 700 and 702 to bring you the 9th Annual Southern California Quality Conference (SCQC) in Cal Poly Pomona.  The event will start with workshops on November 4 and close with a three track conference on November 5th.  The theme for the conference is Quality in the Evolving World of Business.  This promises to be a great educational opportunity for our members.  Have you registered already?  If you have not, I urge you to find out more information using this link and register before the attendance limit is reached.  The conference tracks are Management, Regulatory/Audits, and Lean, Six Sigma and CI Track.  I hope to see you there!

Starting in 2017, we have an exciting change for you.  After many years at the Double Tree Hotel, our sectiwyndhamon has decided to find another home for our monthly dinner meetings and main events.  After a diligent project led by Ned Schneider and Bob Mehta that evaluated different potential venues, we reached an agreement with the Irvine Wyndham Hotel to host our meetings starting next January 2017.  Our section is not a stranger to this hotel.  Our ASQ Section used to host its diner meetings and seminars at this hotel nearly 10 years ago.  The hotel has recently been renovated and their dinner menu promise to be a good move just a few minutes south of the 405 freeway.  Personally, I think the traffic, parking and conference rooms will serve as a much improved venue for our members.  We look forward to seeing you there in January 2017!

Last month, Thomas Neil decided to step down as the leader for our Volunteer Auditor Program.  I personally
thank Thomas for his great contributions to our Leadership Committee and I wish him the best of luck with his busy auditor schedule.  Thomas has been an exemplary member for our section who has proven that the skills that we learn in our Quality Profession can transport us to new opportunities not only in our careers but in our lives.  I remember Thomas a couple of years ago coming to our meetings and sharing his plans to become a Lead Auditor and relaunching his career as an auditor.  Now, Thomas’ career is thriving once again and making a difference for companies he serves.  Thomas, thank you once again and it is with great pride that I can say that I have had the privilege to work with you.

If you are a Certified Lead Auditor and are interested in leading our Volunteer Auditor Program, please email me your resume.  This volunteer program is one with great synergies for our members as well as the community of small businesses that our section is able to assist with auditing services in exchange for our auditors to get a chance to accumulate audit experience.

Last, but not least, November is World Quality Month!  Every year ASQ provides a platform for Qualworldqualitymonthity Professionals around the world to celebrate Quality and share success stories.  Visit the website for this year’s World Quality Month at and join us as we celebrate one of the most influential professions in today’s business world…QUALITY!

Best regards,

Dieter Eckstein, BSBM, ASQ CMQ/OE, CQA

Section Chair, ASQ Orange Empire 0701

Read More

New ASQ Orange Empire Members

New ASQ Orange Empire Members

Welcome and congratulations on making the important decision to become a member of ASQ and ASQ Orange Empire.

All new members are eligible for a free admission to a dinner meeting within 3 Months of becoming a member. Please contact our  membership Chair Vatsal Pater for a Free Dinner Voucher at

Please welcome our Newest members to ASQ Orange Empire Section 0701!

Maria T. Panzarella Moises Torres Richard Wotring Minez Hagen
Christa L. Dagher Lievmar Skorzeny Zeledon Griselda Molina Audrey Doan
Robert G. Nye Faical C. Ben Fehri Vyom S. Mehta Snoddy
Yu Fung (Calvin) Pak Rowena Mansfield Todd A Plesco James Padrino
Clinton A. Treece Barnabas Joseph Shanthi Janet Guerrero
Di Lu Ilya Vaks Trang Hoang
Nirav Shah Justine Nguyen Basel Kashlan
Ashish Yadav Grace Bagwell Thanomlarp Wilder
Adam Dooolittle Antonio Garner Dan O’Donnell




Read More
content top